

OFFICE OF INSPECTOR GENERAL CITY OF JACKSONVILLE

DATE: June 21, 2021

TO: Dr. Cheryl L. Brown, Director/Council Secretary

Office of City Council

FROM: L.E. Hutton, Chair

Inspector General Selection and Retention Committee

SUBJECT: Inspector General Selection and Retention Committee

2020-2021 Annual Report

In accordance with *Ordinance Code*, Section 50.110 – Review of Boards and Commissions, Sunsetting, and Reporting – the Inspector General Selection and Retention Committee (Committee) submits its 2020-2021 Annual Report. This report summarizes the activities of the Committee from July 1, 2020 through June 30, 2021.

Committee Responsibilities

The Committee was established by Section 602.305, *Ordinance Code*. The Committee is responsible for making decisions and recommendations regarding the selection, retention, and removal of the Inspector General. The Committee is also responsible for appointing an interim Inspector General in the event of a vacancy in the position of Inspector General and for providing guidance, direction, and support to the Office of Inspector General (OIG).

Members

As provided in Section 602.305, *Ordinance Code*, the Committee is composed of seven members selected as follows: (1) The President of the Jacksonville City Council or his or her designee; (2) The State Attorney of the Fourth Judicial Circuit or his or her designee; (3) The Chair of the Jacksonville Ethics Commission or his or her designee; (4) The Chair of the Jacksonville TRUE Commission or his or her designee; (5) The Public Defender of the Fourth Judicial Circuit or his or her designee; (6) The Chief Judge of the Fourth Judicial Circuit or his or her designee; and (7) The Mayor of the City of Jacksonville or his or her designee.

"Enhancing Public Trust in Government Through Independent and Responsible Oversight"

The following individuals participated as members of the Committee for meetings held during the reporting year:

Member Name	Member Position
Honorable Tommy Hazouri	President of the Jacksonville City Council
L.E. Hutton	Designee for Honorable Melissa Nelson, State Attorney
	of the Fourth Judicial Circuit
Ellen Schmitt	Chair of the Jacksonville Ethics Commission
Daniel Henry	Chair of the Jacksonville TRUE Commission
Honorable Charlie Cofer	Public Defender for Fourth Judicial Circuit
Julie Taylor	Designee for Honorable Mark Mahon, Chief Judge of the
	Fourth Judicial Circuit
Brian Hughes	Designee for Honorable Lenny Curry, Mayor of the City
	of Jacksonville

There are currently no vacant positions on the Committee. L. E. Hutton served as Chair of the Committee during the year.

Summary of Committee Activity

The meetings of the Committee are audio recorded. These recordings, as well as all Committee meeting agendas and minutes, are posted on the OIG website:

http://www.coj.net/departments/inspector-general/inspector-general-committee

The Committee convened for two meetings during the year to accomplish the following:

Reviewed the Fiscal Year 2020 Annual Report (February 18, 2021)

The Committee reviewed the Fiscal Year 2020 Annual Report and received a verbal briefing on OIG activities, in accordance with §602.303(n), *Ordinance Code*. In addition, during this meeting the Committee conducted the Inspector General Performance Evaluation.

Reviewed the OIG Six-Month Update on Inspector General Activities (April 8, 2021)

The Committee received a verbal briefing regarding the Six-Month Update on the Office of Inspector General activities, in accordance with §602.303(n), *Ordinance Code*. In addition, the Committee reviewed the proposed Office of Inspector General budget for fiscal year 2022 and discussed the renewal of the Inspector General's contract.

These meetings were effective and served the purpose of the enabling legislation.

LH/lg